A.J. & Nicole’s PW Wishlist!

Nicole Melleby and I are excited to be co-mentoring a middle grade writer for Pitch Wars 2021. What’s PitchWars, you might be wondering? Here’s a short description:

Pitch Wars is a mentoring program where published/agented authors, editors, or industry interns choose one writer each to mentor. Mentors read the entire manuscript and offer suggestions on how to make the manuscript shine for the agent showcase. The mentor also helps edit their mentee’s pitch for the contest and their query letter for submitting to agents.

Check out this super helpful FAQ and browse around the official PitchWars site for more info.

Together, Nicole and I make up #TeamQUILTBAG. We’re both active on Twitter (Nicole | A.J.) and will be using that hashtag to sort through prospective mentee questions. Andrew will also be participating in a Pitch Wars Live! chat on Thursday, September 16 at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT. You can set a reminder for that here (note that the MG chat itself starts at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT and Andrew will be hopping on with the second batch of MG mentors at 8/5 p.m.)!

What follows is a veritable boatload of information on who we are, what we’re looking for in a mentee, and what we’d love to see in our submissions box. Note that we’ve looked over one another’s lists to ensure we’re both open to subs with items the other mentor wants. So while there’s a lot of overlap between lists, if there’s something that’s on only one of our wishlists, we’re both definitely okay with it.

Pitch Wars 2021 Middle Grade Mentors’ Wish Lists

    Click here to view all Pitch Wars 2021 Mentors’ Wish Lists. To view the wish lists by genre, visit this link.

    Leave a Reply