Camp QUILTBAG

2024 ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Title for Young Readers

2023 Golden Poppy Book Awards Finalist

Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Camp QUILTBAG book coverFrom the acclaimed authors of Hurricane Season and Ana on the Edge, an unforgettable story about the importance of and joy in finding a community, for fans of Alex Gino and Ashley Herring-Blake.

Twelve-year-old Abigail (she/her/hers) is so excited to spend her summer at Camp QUILTBAG, an inclusive retreat for queer and trans kids. She can’t wait to find a community where she can be herself—and, she hopes, admit her crush on Laura Dern to kids who will understand.

Thirteen-year-old Kai (e/em/eir) is not as excited. E just wants to hang out with eir best friend and eir parkour team. And e definitely does not want to think about the incident that left eir arm in a sling—the incident that also made Kai’s parents determined to send em somewhere e can feel like emself.

After a bit of a rocky start at camp, Abigail and Kai make a pact to help each other find their footing, all while navigating crushes, their queer identities, and a competition pitting cabin against cabin.

Available as a hardcover, paperback, e-book!

Order: Algonquin | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Bookshop.org

Also available as an audiobook.

Add Camp QUILTBAG on Goodreads.
Visit my co-author Nicole’s website.


Accolades

Camp QUILTBAG has been chosen as a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection! 🎉


Praise for Camp QUILTBAG

⭐️ “A timely and necessary addition to any elementary or middle school library, especially as LGBTQIA+ children are seeking examples of loving communities who fully embrace every part of them.”

School Library Journal, starred review

“Via a perceptive dual narrative, Melleby and Sass weave the perspectives of two queer kids drawn together by a need for community.”

Publishers Weekly

“An instructive, affirming pick for rainbow readers and allies … Melleby and Sass write with incredible compassion, crafting a sweet summertime romance while modeling difficult conversations and valuable lessons in inclusivity.”

Booklist

“[Camp QUILTBAG] captures that camp feeling of getting away from home, meeting different people, and growing as a person . . .  At its heart, an enjoyable summer camp story.”

Kirkus Reviews

“This engaging, gently affirming novel should be valuable to young readers exploring their own identities or curious about those of others.”

The Horn Book

“An absolute heartwarming delight. It’s a perfect summer read.”

Book Riot

“Full of hope, humor, and aching honesty, Camp QUILTBAG feels like coming home. A heartwarming, healing novel about navigating new friendships, exploring identity, and building queer community.”

Lin Thompson, author of THE BEST LIARS IN RIVERVIEW

“An invitation to all queer children—young and old, out or otherwise. A unique and remarkably immersive experience, not only telling the stories of our two protagonists, but offering the same space to every reader lucky enough to fall into its pages.”

Esme Symes-Smith, author of SIR CALLIE AND THE CHAMPIONS OF HELSTON