Past Events + Recordings

N.B., Recordings of events have been included below when available.


June 11, 2021: Pride Book Fest – Writing Queer Middle Grade

Premiered on YouTube @ 8:45 a.m. PT / 11:45 a.m. ET

Moderated by Mx. Bree, with Jake Maia Arlow, Chad Lucas, Claribel A. Ortega, Maulik Pancholy, and A.J. Sass.


May 25 2021: A. J. Sass in conversation with Nicole Melleby to celebrate the launch of her book, HOW TO BECOME A PLANET

1:00 p.m. PT / 4:00 p.m. ET


May 14 2021: California Library Association Virtual Annual Conference – Trans and Non-Binary Literature Panel

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDTA. J. Sass at CLA
Moderated by Tre’vell Anderson, with A. J. Sass, Rivers Solomon, and Alok Vaid-Menon


April 24 2021: YALLWEST Panel – Capturing the Pride Flag (Sponsored by Underlined)

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. PDT

Queer Lit for younger readers takes center stage

Moderated by Raphael Simon, with Ashley Herring Blake, Mike Curato, Greg Howard, and A.J. Sass

Order a copy of Ana on the Edge with a signed bookplate (while supplies last) or pre-order This is Our Rainbow through Blue Bicycle Books in Charleston, SC!


February 22, 2021: Queer Writing For Teens (Celebrating the UK’s LGBTQ History Month)

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PST/7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. BST

The last few years has seen an increase in LGBTQ+ representation in YA books. Join authors Adiba Jaigirdar, A.J. Sass, Alecia Dow, Bethany Rutter and Sasha Laurens in conversation as they talk about queer writing for teens. Hosted by Lambeth Libraries.


January 9, 2021: PubTalk Live 2020 Debuts Discussing Debuting During a Pandemic


2020 debut authors David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Karen Osborne, Meryl Wisner, A.J. Sass, and Jess Hernandez discuss their experiences debuting during the pandemic.


November 12, 2020: A.J. Sass in conversation with Mark Oshiro for Children’s Book Week (Books, Inc.)


November 19-22, 2020: National Council of Teachers of English (virtual)


I’m part of the Beyond the Binary panel, featuring authors Jackson Bird, A.J. Sass, Tobly McSmith, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Aiden Thomas.

Moderated by Kacen Callender.

Our panel goes up on Thursday, November 19 at 11:30 a.m. PST/2:30 p.m. EST and the live Q&A begins at 12:45 p.m. PST/3:45 p.m. EST. For more information, visit NCTE’s website.


October 27, 2020: Best of Books IG Live Interview

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Best of Books (@bestofbooksok) on


October 25, 2020: The Dream Skate IG Live Interview


October 20, 2020: P&P Live! A.J. Sass in conversation with Ashley Herring Blake


My official book launch event, where I spoke with fabulous Stonewall Honor Award winning author Ashley Herring Blake. Thank you so much for hosting, Politics & Prose! 🙂


October 16, 2020: Celebrate the Rainbow, hosted by Best of Books

Featuring Briana McDonald, Ash Van Otterloo, Kit Rosewater, and A.J. Sass

Questions by Nicole Melleby


September 29, 2020: StoryFest

Featuring James Bird, Janae Marks, Lorien Lawrence, Adrianna Cuevas, A.J. Sass, and Supriya Kelkar

Moderated by Shannon Doleski


August 1-2, 2020: Middle Ground Book Fest

I spoke on the Queer Themes in Middle-Grade panel with authors Mark Oshiro, Briana McDonald, Nicole Melleby, Maulik Pancholy, and Kit Rosewater (moderator). Website


July 16, 2020: nErd Camp PA (9-12pm ET, via zoom)

I spoke on both LGBTQ Representation in Children’s Literature panels (9:30-10am and 10:30-11am ET) with authors Alexandra Villasante, Nicole Melleby, NoNieqa Ramos, and Nicole Panteleakos.

More information can be found here.


Kidlit Pride – June 2020: Beyond the Binary panel

Featuring Mark Oshiro, Anna-Marie McLemore, A.J. Sass, and Mia Siegert

Moderated by Alex Abraham


June 26, 2020: #LBYRExtraCredit Twitter chat

A Twitter chat celebrating Pride 2020

Author hosts: Erin Gough, Ashley Herring Blake, Lev AC Rosen (AKA L.C. Rosen), A.J. Sass, Kate Pentecost, Derek Milman, and Kylie Schachte

Educator, librarian, and advocate hosts: Alessandra Affinito, Dr. Rob Bittner, Cicely the Great, Michele Green, Matthew Winner, Laura Arnhold, Madeline Tyner, and Lucy Ibarra Podmore

Check out the #LBYRExtraCredit hashtag on Twitter to read the conversation.